Reading Month May 2024 – Part 3

A Long Time Coming by Meghan Quinn
(English Edition)

Have you ever heard of a man-in-waiting?
Yeah, neither has my best friend’s soon-to-be monster-in-law. Ooo, sorry, I meant mother-in-law. Nor has she heard of the term, what the bride wants, the bride gets. With wedding planning underway and a short timeline, my best friend, Lia, has recruited me to help her battle the snarly beast that is Mrs. Beaver. Not scared at all, I accept the challenge as her man-in-waiting–aka, man of honor–and take matters into my own hands. The only problem is, with every second we draw closer to the wedding, I’m starting to see my best girl in a different light.
She’s always been beautiful to me, but now . . . I find myself staring a touch too long. My hand lingering for one more minute. And when she’s upset? Allowing her to sleep in my bed. And before I know what’s happening, it hits me like a ton of bricks. I’m in love with my best friend. Not just in love, but infatuated.
No one compares to her and nothing seems to distract me from that realization. Not the girl I try to date while I help plan Lia’s wedding. Not her angry fiancé who thinks I’m growing too close. And not the looming deadline of her nuptials.
Which means, there’s only one thing left for me to do. Prove to Lia I’m the one she should be with instead. But with the pressure of her engagement, the stress from her soon-to-be mother-in-law, and the breath-stealing nerves running through me, I’m finding it a lot harder to claim the girl than I would like to admit.
Say a little prayer for me . . .

Worth reading? No.
There are beautiful love stories where two best friends fall in love…and there is this book where everything just seemed cringeworthy in terms of the feelings of the two main characters.

***

Thirteen Candles by Sienna Judd
Starlight Canyon Book 1 (English Edition)

A small town enemies to lovers romance about a single dad cowboy and the feisty teacher who drives him wild.
Sam Rider is mouthy, bossy, uppity as shit, and I have no choice but to deal with her smart-mouth since she’s my daughter’s teacher.
Sam waltzes into our small town on a temporary contract equipped with brochures and more change than a single dad can handle. I never trusted anybody to tell me what to do and I sure as hell won’t start with Sam, ten years younger, a city girl and only in Starlight Canyon for the short haul.
I have to watch those sinful pink lips tell me what’s right for three solid months and she won’t stop until I change my mind. Thing is, the more we get to know each other, the more I want to change her mind, too.
About leaving.

Worth reading? Maybe.
The book starts really well and it was amusing to follow how Colt and Sam slowly but surely fall in love with each other, but are always caught up in their problems. I particularly liked the topic of having children. That was a special circumstance or reason that I hadn’t come across in any other book before. It’s also great that a baby isn’t suddenly on the way at the end.

***

Watch Your Mouth by Kandi Steiner
Kings of the Ice Book 4 (English Edition) 

My brother’s teammates know not to touch me — but that doesn’t stop me from daring Jaxson Brittain to be the first to break the rule.
After one steamy night in Austin, I’m all too aware of the hot, broody defenseman with icy blue eyes and ink sprawling his muscular arms. He was the one my brother assigned to keep me safe — and I had far too much fun tempting him to be the one to put me in danger. It was just one night of tip-toeing the line, of teasing and flirting and messing around knowing nothing would ever come of it.
But when the universe throws me back into his lap two weeks later and we end up on a secret road trip together, all bets are off. I can’t help but touch him. I can’t help but pray for him to touch me. And I can’t resist the temptation to test him at every turn.
Jaxson is smart and doesn’t have a death wish. So, like a gentleman, he keeps his hands to himself… the jerk.
But the closer we get on the road and the farther we get from reality, the less those warning signs from my brother seem to deter him. When we started this road trip, we set a boundary. We promised to keep all arms and legs safely in the friend zone. Now, miles and miles away from all the reasons we shouldn’t, all I can hear is my heart thumping out the resounding reason we should.
And the way those heated blue eyes watch me, I know I’m not the only one.

Worth reading? Maybe.
At first I was expecting the typical love story – he falls in love with his best friend and teammate’s younger sister and for the most part I got that story, but with two really likeable characters who couldn’t have been more different.

***

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar