Reading Month May 2024 – Part 4

In The Game by Sloane St. James
Lakes Hockey Series Book 3 (English Edition)

Raleigh
Growing up, the ice was my safe space. I excelled at playing hockey. However, these days, it’s hockey players that provide sanctuary—one bed at a time. We have an arrangement, I offer them a night of pleasure, and in return, they grant me all the temporary, artificial love I can get my hands on. A chance to feel whole. Happily ever after doesn’t exist where I come from, but I crave it just the same. It was a foolproof system.
Until Barrett. One night with him was all it took to tear down walls and crack the facade I worked so hard to build. The connection we had felt real, which made it all the more heartbreaking when it was time to leave. To him, I was simply another puck bunny. I never planned on seeing him again, until I discovered our one night changed my life forever. When I tried to reach out, he turned callous and cruel. That was the day I swore I’d never allow Barrett back into my life.

Barrett
It’s been over five years since our one-night stand and I still can’t get her out of my head. No woman has ever come close to making me feel the things she did that night. But when I wake up the next morning, I’m alone, without any way to contact her. Trust me, I tried. Over the years searching for her has become an obsession and I’ve faced endless ridicule from my teammates, but I’ll never give up. She’s out there and I’m gonna find her.
That day finally comes after a spontaneous meet and greet with a new Minnesota Lakes sponsor. Suddenly, there she is, more beautiful than ever. But if looks could kill, I’d be six feet deep. Raleigh’s convinced we are done for good, but now that I’ve found her, I’ll stop at nothing to make her mine. Because this time she has a four-year-old son—and he looks just like me.

Worth reading? No.
I don’t know what to say about this book. It was very predictable and I thought it was a shame how quickly the two of them became a couple again. Plus his excuse that he didn’t find her, even though „Julia“ was looking for him – which he should have known better that she didn’t do.
It all went far too smoothly and too perfectly.

***

The Canary Cowards by Jescie Hall
(English Edition)

Dylan
As a proud physiotherapist fresh out of school, I never imagined falling for a client. Especially not fallen football star, Lake Decker. His over-confident, broody attitude has me biting my tongue and doing whatever it takes to keep this job and support my secrets. Secrets Lake keeps pushing me to unravel.

Lake
I don’t fall for women. Women fall for me. I’m Lake Decker, best running back in the league. Former. After a debilitating injury forced me to step back from my budding career, the last thing I thought I’d be doing is drooling at the feet of my stale-looking therapist. But her saucy attitude, strict professionalism, and the occasional shiner have my curiosities piqued.

One thing is certain, we both know how to act tough in the face of adversity, but at our core, we’re nothing but a couple of cowards.

Worth reading? Maybe.
At first, I wasn’t at all taken with the story about Dylan and Lake because I couldn’t relate to them as the main characters and the plot was more than boring. But with the inclusion of Dylan’s brother, the story was at least able to grab me a little, it was nice to read, but nothing special.

***

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar